World politics on campus: Afghanistan

Event
Thursday 28 October 2021 - 18:15 to 19:30
Add to Calendar

The event will take place online. You can join the event by clicking on the yellow button below.

Online talk and discussion about the current situation in Afghanistan with Dr Jasper Wieck, Special Representative of the Federal Government for Afghanistan and Pakistan.
wpoc_instagram_post_mit_foto_28.10.2021

The "Western" model of policy, governance and economy is increasingly being challenged. With China, a new power is rising. Alternative models to the Western democracy claim to deal more effectively with new developments and mega-trends. Climate change and pollution require drastic and immediate measures. Populations in privileged countries fear global migration. The fairness of the distribution of income and wealth in the world is questioned. Populist political figures are gaining ground, and multi-lateral institutions are being discredited.

Over the last decades, globalisation has impacted the entire world. Many industries profited from globalization, and companies of all sizes have become extremely active on the international stage. Globalization has created growth, jobs and financial strength, and has allowed us to invest in future technologies. Even though it is unimaginable to significantly scale back the degree of globalization, the world is struggling to find solutions for its detrimental effects.

The lecture series World Politics on Campus – Welcoming the World at Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg provides insights into the challenges lying ahead of us. It attempts to shed light on the issues from more than one standpoint. We invite outstanding and distinguished international personalities, experts and decision-makers who are able to introduce the audience to the views of the nations and cultures they represent. Participants will be able to engage in conversation, ask questions and enter discussion.

Foto Jasper Wieck

Dr Jasper Wieck, Special Representative of the Federal Government for Afghanistan and Pakistan will be our distinguished guest on 28 October 2021 from 18:15 to 19:30. He will give a guest lecture about the current situation in Afghanistation.

Dr Jasper Wieck has extensive experience in the region having served as Deputy Head of Mission in India (2017-2020) and Deputy Director General for East Asia, South East Asia and the Pacific (2020/2021). Dr Wieck was Director for Security and Defense Policy in the Federal Foreign Office from 2012 to 2017. Previous postings include the German Delegation to NATO and the German Embassies in Moscow and Baku.

“Over the past twenty years the international community had been heavily engaged in Afghanistan. This is particular true for Germany which had not only been one of the major troop contributors but which also had invested considerable resources into the stabilization and the socio-economic development of the country and into the inner-Afghan peace process. In August the Government of Afghanistan imploded and the Taliban took over control of the entire country.  

Two and a half months after the fall of Kabul: What is the current situation in Afghanistan? What do we expect for the months ahead? What are our interests regarding Afghanistan? How can we make sure that our interests are taken into account? Is the international community united regarding Afghanistan?

The online talk and discussion will be moderated by Prof. Dr Hektor Haarkötter.

"World Politics on Campus - Welcoming the World at Bonn-Rhein-Sieg University of Applied Sciences" is a series of lectures that intends to offer students and the audience to engage in conversation with outstanding and distinguished international and national personalities and decision-makers on current political and international issues.

World politics on campus: Afghanistan

Termin
Donnerstag, 28. Oktober 2021 - 18:15 bis 19:30
Zum Kalender hinzufügen

Die Veranstaltung findet online statt. Sie können an der Veranstaltung teilnehmen, indem Sie auf den gelben Button unten klicken..

Online Talk und Diskussion über die aktuelle Situation in Afghanistan mit Dr. Jasper Wieck, Sonderbeauftragter der Bundesregierung für Afghanistan und Pakistan.
wpoc_instagram_post_mit_foto_28.10.2021

Das "westliche" Modell von Politik, Governance und Wirtschaft wird zunehmend in Frage gestellt. Mit China steigt eine neue Macht auf. Alternative Modelle zur westlichen Demokratie erheben den Anspruch, effektiver mit neuen Entwicklungen und Megatrends umzugehen. Klimawandel und Umweltverschmutzung erfordern drastische und sofortige Maßnahmen. Bevölkerungen in privilegierten Ländern fürchten die globale Migration. Die Gerechtigkeit der Verteilung von Einkommen und Vermögen in der Welt wird in Frage gestellt. Populistische Politiker sind auf dem Vormarsch, und multilaterale Institutionen werden diskreditiert.

In den letzten Jahrzehnten hat die Globalisierung die ganze Welt erfasst. Viele Branchen haben von der Globalisierung profitiert, und Unternehmen aller Größenordnungen sind auf dem internationalen Parkett äußerst aktiv geworden. Die Globalisierung hat Wachstum, Arbeitsplätze und Finanzkraft geschaffen und uns ermöglicht, in Zukunftstechnologien zu investieren. Auch wenn es unvorstellbar ist, den Grad der Globalisierung signifikant zurückzuschrauben, ringt die Welt um Lösungen für ihre nachteiligen Auswirkungen.

Die Vortragssreihe World Politics on Campus - Welcoming the World at Bonn-Rhein-Sieg University of Applied Sciences gibt Einblicke in die Herausforderungen, die vor uns liegen. Sie versucht, die Themen aus mehr als einem Blickwinkel zu beleuchten. Wir laden herausragende internationale Persönlichkeiten, Experten und Entscheidungsträger ein, die dem Publikum die Sichtweisen der von ihnen vertretenen Nationen und Kulturen näher bringen können. Die Teilnehmenden haben die Möglichkeit, ins Gespräch zu kommen, Fragen zu stellen und in die Diskussion einzusteigen.

Foto Jasper Wieck

Dr. Jasper Wieck, Sonderbeauftragter der Bundesregierung für Afghanistan und Pakistan, ist am 28. Oktober 2021 von 18:15 bis 19:30 Uhr unser Ehrengast. Er wird einen Gastvortrag über die aktuelle Situation in Afghanistan halten.

Dr. Jasper Wieck verfügt über umfangreiche Erfahrungen in der Region und war stellvertretender Missionsleiter in Indien (2017-2020) und stellvertretender Generaldirektor für Ostasien, Südostasien und den Pazifik (2020/2021). Von 2012 bis 2017 war Dr. Wieck Abteilungsleiter für Sicherheits- und Verteidigungspolitik im Auswärtigen Amt. Zuvor war er unter anderem in der deutschen Delegation bei der NATO und in den deutschen Botschaften in Moskau und Baku tätig.

"In den vergangenen zwanzig Jahren hat sich die internationale Gemeinschaft stark in Afghanistan engagiert. Dies gilt insbesondere für Deutschland, das nicht nur einer der wichtigsten Truppensteller war, sondern auch erhebliche Mittel in die Stabilisierung und die sozioökonomische Entwicklung des Landes sowie in den innerafghanischen Friedensprozess investiert hat. Im August brach die afghanische Regierung zusammen und die Taliban übernahmen die Kontrolle über das gesamte Land.  

Zweieinhalb Monate nach dem Fall von Kabul: Wie ist die aktuelle Lage in Afghanistan? Was erwarten wir in den kommenden Monaten? Was sind unsere Interessen in Bezug auf Afghanistan? Wie können wir sicherstellen, dass unsere Interessen berücksichtigt werden? Ist sich die internationale Gemeinschaft in Bezug auf Afghanistan einig?

Der Online Gesprächsrunde wird von Prof. Dr. Claudia Warning moderiert .

 

"World Politics on Campus - Welcoming the World at Bonn-Rhein-Sieg University of Applied Sciences" ist eine Vortragsreihe, die Studierenden und dem Publikum die Möglichkeit bietet mit herausragenden und angesehenen internationalen und nationalen Persönlichkeiten und Entscheidungsträgern über aktuelle politische und internationale Themen ins Gespräch zu kommen.