Awards for our students

AFCEA Bonn e.V. Best Thesis Award 2016

3rd prize: Maurice Velte (Betreuer: Prof. Dr. Norbert Jung)
Master Thesis “Semantic Image Segmentation Combining Visible and NearInfrared Channels with Depth Information”

Best Paper Award  International Conference on Computational Science and Its Applications 2016 in Peking

Katharina Stollenwerk, Anna Vögele, Björn Krüger, Reinhard Klein, André Hinkenjann: "Automatic Temporal Segmentation of Articulated Hand Motion"


Best Scientific Paper Award RoboCup Symposium Leipzig 2016

Alexander Hagg, Frederik Hegger, Prof. Dr. Paul Plöger: "On Recognizing Transparent Objects in Domestic Environments Using Fusion of Multiple Sensor Modalities"

RoboCup World Cup 2016 in Leipzig

Team b-it bots @work: vice world champion @work league

Team b-it bots @home: 9th place @home league

APEX Programming Competition Nordrhein-Westfalen 2016

1st prize for Alli Pierre Yotti und Franck Albert Nyassa


Award of the H-BRS Equal Opportunity Commissioner 2015

Melanie Ludwig
Best Masters Thesis of a female Student: „Computational Prediction of Training on Physical Performance: Model Analysis and Comparison“.
Supervisor: Prof. Dr. Alexander Asteroth

Gesellschaft der Förderer der Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg e.V. 2015
(Society of sponsors of H-BRS)

Matias Alejandro Valdenegro Toro
Best Masters Thesis Autonomous Systems: Fast Text Detection for Road Scenes“
Supervisor: Prof. Dr. Paul G. Plöger
Sponsor: Stiftung Evolution

Maurice Velte
Best Masters Thesis Information Science: „Semantic Image Segmentation Combining Visible and Near-Infrared Channels with Depth information“.
Supervisor: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Norbert Jung 
Sponsor: Zurich Group

Student Award of the Association of German Engineers
Verband Deutscher Ingenieure (VDI) Köln

1st Prize: David Scherfgen
Best Masters Thesis "Camera-based 3D Pointing Approach Using Dynamic On-Screen Markers"
Supervisor: Prof. Dr. Rainer Herpers

AFCEA e.V. Bonn Best Thesis Awards 2015

1st Prize: Matias Alejandro Valdenegro Toro
Masters Thesis “Fast Text Detection for Road Scenes”
Supervisor: Prof. Dr. Paul G. Plöger

2nd Prize: Sergej Alexandrov
Masters Thesis “Geometric Segmentation of Point Cloud Data by Spectral Analysis”
Supervisor: Prof. Dr. Rainer Herpers

2nd Prize: Tobias Haubrich
Masters Thesis „Entwicklung eines synthetischen Perzeptionsprozesses für intelligente virtuelle Agenten“
Supervisor: Prof. Dr. Rainer Herpers

Best Student Paper Award ACT3AgeingWell 2015

MAS-Students Ashok Meenakshi Sundaram and Melanie Ludwig

Best-Student-Paper Award on the International Conference on Information and Communication Technologies for Ageing Well (ICT3AgeingWell) in Lisbon:
"On Modeling the Cardiovascular System and Predicting the Human Heartrate under Strain"

Supervisors: Matthias Füller, Prof. Dr. Alexander Asteroth und Prof. Dr. Erwin Prassler 

DriveE Academy Award 2015

Adam Gaier won 2nd prize with his project
"Energy efficient Control Policies using evolutionary Strategies"

InformatiCup of the German Informatics Society (GI) 2015

Masters student Helge Spieker teamed up with Neele Halbur from Bielefeld University to win 2nd prize. PPI AG

Best Paper Award on the IEEE VR 2015

David Scherfgen, M.Sc. Informatik

For his contribution "A Robust Inside-Out Approach for 3D Interaction with large Displays" at the Symposium on 3D User Interfaces (, Category: TechNotes.
Co-Authors:  Prof. Dr. Rainer Herpers and Timur Saitov