Skip to main content

Institute for Technology, Renewables and Energy-efficient Engineering (TREE)


Simply excellent: Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg - University of Applied Sciences | Hands-on degree programmes based on state-of-the-art research.

Awards 2019

    B. Krahn, Lehren Fellowship 2019, "Toepferstiftung" with "Stifterverband", 2019

  1. Jessica Rumpf, Best Poster Award at "TREE-Klausurtagung", TREE-Institute, 2019
  2. Katharina Walbrück, Best Poster Award at the "Bauchemie" conference , Deutsche Bauchemie e.V., 2019
  3. Michael Bergs, Ph.D. Award of the H-BRS-GI, Graduate Institute H-BRS, 2019
  4. Tanja Clees, Best Paper Award, Infocomp 2019 Modopt, 2019

Awards 2018

  1. Adam Gaier, Best Paper Award at: "Genetic and Evolutionary Computation Conference (GECCO) 2018
  2. Ahmad Drak, Best Paper Award at: 19th International Arab Conference on information Technology (ACIT'2018) 2018
  3. Hannah Karbach, Award for the best Master Thesis. Study program: Analytical chemistry and quality assurance for: Development of a SS-ETV-ICP-MS method to study the bioaccumulation of selected metaline mud crabs (Corophium Volutator), Hochschulgesellschaft Bonn-Rhein-Sieg (2018)
  4. Jasmin Grieß, Award for the best Bachelor Thesis: Development of a test methodology on component level as part of the validation process for a crash management system to meet the high speed crash requirements, Hochschulgesellschaft Bonn-Rhein-Sieg (2018)
  5. Maddie Picket, Scholarship "DAAD Rise program 2018", June-August 2018
  6. Razan Haddad, NRW Scholarship program Mideast 2018, June-August 2018
  7. Rene Burger,  Award for the best Bachelor Thesis. Study program: Chemistry with material sciences for: Carbon Nanotube supported Polyamines as Heterogenouscatalyst for CC-Coupling reactions, Hochschulgesellschaft Bonn-Rhein-Sieg (2018)
  8. Robin Strickstrock, Award for the best Master Thesis: Optimizing Lennard-Jones parameters by coupling nano-and macroscale target data using user-guided numericalalgorithms, Hochschulgesellschaft Bonn-Rhein-Sieg (2018)

Awards 2017

  1. Ahmad Drak, Award for the best Master Thesis. Study program: Autonomous Systems for:
    "DoveCopter: A Tracking and Following Aerial Platform for Aerodynamics Analysis of a Velomobile",
    Hochschulgesellschaft Bonn-Rhein-Sieg (2017)
  2. Adam Gaier, Best Paper Award:
    "Data-Efficient Exploration, Optimization, and Modeling of Diverse Designs through Surrogate-Assisted Illumination",
    Genetic and Evolutionary Computation Conference (GECCO) 2017 (15.-19.07.2017)
  3. Adam Gaier, Best Student Paper Award:
    "Aerodynamic Design Exploration through Surrogate-Assisted Illumination",
    AIAA Aviation Forum 2017, Atlanta, USA (05.06.2017)
  4. Dirk Grommes, Best Poster Award:
    "Resource-efficient optimization of hollow plastic bodies using multi-scale simulation",
    Presentation meeting of the expert group ressources of the Graduate Institute of NRW, Geothermie-Zentrum Bochum (16.03.2017)
  5. Alexander Hagg, Ph.D. Scholarship of the faculty of computer sciences:
    "Hierarchical Surrogate Modeling for Illumination Algorithms",
    Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg (22.11.2017)
  6. Alexander Hagg, Honourable Mention:
    "Hierarchical Surrogate Modeling for Illumination Algorithms",
    GECCO (Genetic and Evolutionary Computation Conference), Berlin (15.-19.07.2017)
  7. Alexander Hagg, AFCEA study award for the best Master Thesis:
    "Hierarchical Training of Local Surrogate Models for Evolutionary Optimization of Streamlined 2D Shapes",
    AFCEA Bonn e.V. (07.09.2017)
  8. Tim Jax, Butcher-award for the best presentation before finishing his Ph.D.:
    "An Attempt to Avoid Exact Jacobian in the Numerical Solution of Differential-Algebraic Equations by W-Methods",
    SciDADE (International Conference on Scientific Computation and Differential Equations), University of Bath, UK (15.09.2017)
  9. Melanie Ludwig, Ph.D. Scholarship of the offie for gender equality:
    "Performance modelling based on submaximal outdoor training",
    Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg (22.11.2017)
  10. Dirk Rusche, Award for the best Bachelor Thesis. Study program: Business information systems for:
    "Combination of neuroevolution methods with gradient methods for neural networks",
    Hochschulgesellschaft Bonn-Rhein-Sieg (20.10.2017)
  11. Simon Weßel, Award for the best Bachelor Thesis. Study program: Mechanical engineering for:
    "Development and evaluation of methods for model-based trajectory determination of semi-trailers",
    Hochschulgesellschaft Bonn-Rhein-Sieg (20.10.2017)