DoVE

Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg
Development of Vehicle Exteriors
From: 
24.09.2014
to
24.02.2018

Project description

The goal of the Development of Vehicle Exteriors (DoVE) project is to explore new techniques in the automated engineering of three dimensional objects. We take the crafting of the aerodynamic shells which surround velomobiles as a test case, using evolutionary methods to develop stable, aerodynamic, light-weight designs.

Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg

Typically engineers, using well understood rules and decades of experience, create designs which they know will perform well, and validate these designs, either through wind tunnel tests or fluid dynamics simulations. As computing power grows and evolutionary algorithms become more sophisticated engineers are increasingly taking advantage of these algorithms to further optimize their designs. Engineers identify particularly important parameters, such as the angles of the body at the back of a car, and allow these algorithms to test out many variations of these parameters within a predefined range. Those designs which perform the best are combined, along with some small random changes to produce new ‘child’ designs, the best of which in turn are evaluated and produce their own ‘child’ designs. This mimicking of survival-of-the-fittest iteratively produces ever better designs, without the expert knowledge, or prejudices, of human engineers. 

In contrast to the development of automobiles and airplanes by large firms and teams of engineers, the story of velomobile design is mostly one of hobbyists and small companies. The trial and error experimentation of these smaller designers has developed incredibly high performing vehicle shells, the shapes of which are very non-intuitive. The Milan velomobile is one such design, with a complex, contoured shape. The success of these oddly shaped designs suggests intriguing possibilities for new design concepts outside of established engineering experience. 

For an algorithm to produce non-intuitive designs like the Milan it is obvious that we cannot only concentrate on small adjustments in predefined parts of existing designs. Instead the shape must be able to be changed in its entirety. Very large numbers of parameters must therefore be tuned, all of which interact. To do this we use techniques pioneered for the evolution of highly complex neural networks. These techniques have been shown to be effective in the evolution of networks with interacting parameters in the millions, and so are suitable for describing three-dimensional shapes, even at very high resolutions. Advances made in more complete representations of three dimensional objects, and their optimization, could then be applied beyond aerodynamics and to a wide variety of engineering problems.

DoVE-Tales: Real World Drag Testing

Light-weight vehicles, like pedelecs or velomobiles, are usually designed by experts and tested in computational fluid dynamics (CFD) simulations of the vehicle body, or by subjecting a real world model to a series of wind tunnel tests. Wind tunnel tests offer a fully controllable test bed but lack the ability to test factors common in realistic environments. A fully realistic environment, with such effects as side winds, road architecture, and externally caused turbulences, is necessary to produce a more accurate efficiency model of the vehicle over its entire lifetime.

Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg

Wind tunnels tend to produce highly idealized scenarios with a dominant air flow direction and little externally caused turbulences. On the other hand, CFD simulations offer ways to simulate more realistic environmental conditions, but they come at a high computational cost and a reduction of accuracy, which is caused by the approximative nature underlying the CFD setup. The incomplete model for turbulent air flow and the relatively low data resolution in CFD systems leads to such a loss in accuracy. 

To create a more realistic test bed for vehicle testing, DoVE-Tales is developing solutions to extract an air flow model around such vehicles by using techniques from computer vision and machine learning. By attaching so-called ‘tufts’, commonly made out of yarn or wool, to well described basic shapes in a wind tunnel, and by using image analysis to extract their positions, orientations and deformations over time, we learn how to map these properties to the actual air flow around the objects. We can then transfer the tufts and the visual system to a real vehicle and run outside tests over predefined scenarios. The machine-learned mapping will then provide us with a full air flow model during these tests. This will enable us to do comparative testing between vehicle models and analyze how small changes in the vehicle’s chassis improves or degrades aerodynamic efficiency. 

Tufts are commonly used for qualitative analysis and are widely used to determine flow separation and transition layers between laminar and turbulent air flow. Quantitative analysis is a much more difficult problem, and while it has been shown to be possible in idealized scenarios through the use of smoke and infrared lasers, enabling this technology for full-body analysis in realistic scenarios will provide new insights into the vehicles’ design and behavior.

Project manager at H-BRS

Prof. Dr Alexander Asteroth

Professor of Computer Science
Director of Institute of Technology, Renewables and Energy-efficient Engineering
Speaker of Efficient Mobility workgroup
Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg
Email: 
alexander.asteroth [at] h-brs.de

Co-operating professors

Research associates

Results

Theses and Projects

  • Alexander Hagg: Hierarchical Training of Local Surrogate Models for Evolutionary Optimization of Streamlined 2D Shapes, Masterarbeit, work in progress
  • Michael Wahlen: Ableitung eines zeitvarianten Vektorfeldes aus Tuft-Videos, Masterarbeit, 2015
  • Arka Mallick: Estimating air speed around aerodynamic shapes based on tuft behavior, Research&Development Projekt, 2015

Publications

  • Adam Gaier: Evolutionary Design via Indirect Encoding of Non-Uniform Rational Basis Splines, Proceedings of the 2015 Annual Conference on Genetic and Evolutionary Computation Pages 1197-1200 , ACM New York, NY, USA, 2015

DoVE

Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg
Development of Vehicle Exteriors
Von: 
24.09.2014
to
24.02.2018

Projektbeschreibung

Das Ziel des DoVE Projekts (Development of Vehicle Exteriors) ist die Erforschung neuer Techniken zum automatisiertem Entwurf drei-dimensionaler Objekten. Wir betrachten die Konstruktion aerodynamischer Velomobilkarosserien als Testfall für die evolutionäre Entwicklung stabiler, aerodynamischer leichtgewichtiger Entwürfe.
 

Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg

Überlicherweise benutzen Experten wohlbeschriebene Regeln und jahrzehntelange Erfahrung für die Herstellung von qualitativ hochwertigen Entwürfen. Die Performanz wird anschließend mit Hilfe von Windtunneltests oder Fluiddynamiksimulationen verifiziert. Weil unsere Rechenkapazitäten ständig wachsen und evolutionäre Algorithmen immer raffinierter werden, benutzen Ingenieuren diese immer häufiger für die weitere Optimierung der Entwürfe. Sie identifizieren bestimmte wichtige Parametern, wie beispielsweise die Winkel der Karosserie am hinteren Ende des Fahrzeugs, und benutzen diese Algorithmen für die Analyse einer großen Menge Alternativen dieser Parametern innerhalb einer bestimmten Bandbreite. Die bestleistende Entwürfe werden kombiniert und kleinere Mutationen angewendet, um somit eine neue Generation von „Kindern“ zu erzeugen. Diese neue Generation kriegt dann wiederum selber „Kinder“. Dieses Verfahren simuliert das Überleben des Stärkeren und produziert iterativ immer bessere Entwürfe, ohne die Verwendung von Wissen oder Vorurteile menschlicher Ingenieure.

Die Geschichte des Velomobilentwurfs ist, im Gegensatz zur Entwicklung von PKWs und Flügzeugen durch Großunternehmen und Ingenieursteams, besetzt von Hobbyisten und Kleinunternehmen. Ihr oftmals versuchsbasierter Entwurfsprozess hat zu unglaublich hochperformante Karosserieentwürfe geführt, deren Form oft sehr anti-intuitiv ist. Das Milan Velomobil (siehe Bild) ist eins solcher Entwürfe und hat eine hochkomplexe Form. Der Erfolg dieses eigenartige Fahrzeugs suggeriert, dass es interessante Möglichkeiten für neue Konzeptentwürfe gibt, die außerhalb der Reichweite etabliertes Ingenieurswissen liegt.

Damit ein Algorithmus solche nicht-intuitive Entwürfe wie das Milan produziert, reicht es offensichtlich nicht, kleine Anpassungen an einem bestehenden Entwurf zu erzeugen. Stattdessen muss die Form ganzheitlich geändert werden können. Eine sehr große Zahl an Parametern, welche sich alle gegenseitig beeinflüssen, muss somit bestimmt werden. Um dies zu erreichen nutzen wir Techniken die für die Evolution hochkomplexer neuronalen Netzen entwickelt wurden. Es wurde gezeigt, dass diese Techniken sehr effektiv sind für die Evolution von Netzen, die aus Millionen von interagierenden Parametern bestehen, und sind somit geeignet für die Beschreibung dreidimensionaler Formen, sogar in hoher Auflösung. Fortschritte in der vollständigen Darstellung dreidimensionaler Objekten, und deren Optimierung, könnten somit auf eine breite Vielfalt an Problemen angewendet werden, die über Aerodynamik hinausgehen.

DoVE-Tales: Real World Drag Testing

Aerodynamische Fahrzeuge wie Auto- oder Velomobile werden üblicherweise von Experten entworfen und mit Hilfe von Fluiddynamiksimulationen (CFD) der Fahrzeugkarosserie und Windtunneltests auf Prototypen analysiert. Windtunneltests bieten eine gut kontrollierbare Plattform, bilden aber nur eine idealisierte Situation mit homogener Strömungssituation ab. Außerdem sind sie energie- und kostenaufwändig und nicht in der Lage, alle relevanten Bedingungen abzubilden. CFD-Simulationen bieten die Möglichkeit, realistischere Umgebungsmodelle zu berechnen, sind aber rechnerisch aufwändig und aufgrund der approximativen Natur des CFD-Modells von reduzierter Genauigkeit. Das unvollständige Modell für turbulente Luftströmung und die relativ niedrige Auflösung sind maßgeblich hierfür. Ein vollständig realistischer Test mit Seitenwind, von der Umgebung erzeugten Verwirbelungen, usw., würde eine Analyse des Fahrzeugs unter realistischen Bedingungen ermöglichen.

Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg


Zur Schaffung einer realistischeren Testplattform für Fahrzeugtests wurde das DoVE-Tales Projekt ins Leben gerufen. Wir extrahieren das aerodynamische Modell in Fahrzeugnähe, indem wir Techniken aus der Computer Vision und dem Maschinellen Lernen anwenden. Sogenannte Tufts, klassischerweise hergestellt aus Garn oder Wolle, werden an aerodynamisch wohlbeschriebenen Basisformen befestigt und mit Hilfe der Bildanalyse wird ihre zeitliche Position, Orientierung und Verformung festgestellt. Mit maschinellen Lernverfahren können schließlich die aerodynamischen Eigenschaften des Objekts aus dem Verhalten dieser Tufts abgeleitet werden. Letztendlich ist es das Ziel, das vollständige quantifizierte aerodynamische Verhalten des gesamten Fahrzeugs unter realistischen Bedingungen zu bestimmen. Dies ermöglicht es, Vergleichstests zwischen Fahrzeugmodellen durchzuführen und zu analysieren, wie Änderungen an der Karosserie zu Veränderungen der aerodynamischen Effizienz führen.

Tufts, oder Telltales, werden bislang üblicherweise nur für die qualitative Analyse verwendet, um sowohl die Separation der Luftströmung vom Fahrzeug als auch die Übergänge zwischen Regionen laminar anliegender Strömung und turbulenten Bereichen zu beobachten. Eine quantitative Analyse ist wesentlich schwieriger und wurde bislang nur in einigen eingeschränkten Szenarien durchgeführt, indem man z.B. mit Hilfe von Infrarotlasern und Rauchpartikeln die Strömung um Tragflächenprofile darstellte. Diese Technologie auf eine vollständige Strömungsanalyse zu übertragen schafft neue Möglichkeiten des Fahrzeugentwurfs und ermöglicht die Optimierung einer größeren Zahl an Fahrzeug-Parametern.

Projektleitung an der H-BRS

Prof. Dr. Alexander Asteroth

Professor für Theoretische Grundlagen der Informatik
Geschäftsführender Direktor des Instituts TREE
Sprecher der Arbeitsgruppe Effiziente Mobilität
Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg
E-Mail: 
alexander.asteroth [at] h-brs.de

Sankt Augustin

Raum: 
A 022.3

Kooperierende Professorinnen und Professoren

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter

Projektergebnisse

Abschluss- und Projektarbeiten

  • Alexander Hagg: Hierarchical Training of Local Surrogate Models for Evolutionary Optimization of Streamlined 2D Shapes, Masterarbeit, work in progress
  • Michael Wahlen: Ableitung eines zeitvarianten Vektorfeldes aus Tuft-Videos, Masterarbeit, 2015
  • Arka Mallick: Estimating air speed around aerodynamic shapes based on tuft behavior, Research&Development Projekt, 2015

Publikationen

  • Adam Gaier: Evolutionary Design via Indirect Encoding of Non-Uniform Rational Basis Splines, Proceedings of the 2015 Annual Conference on Genetic and Evolutionary Computation Pages 1197-1200 , ACM New York, NY, USA, 2015