LoDProVis – Level-of-Detail Methods for the Progressive Visualization of Simulation Data

This project aims at developing novel data representation and transfer methods which will be capable of handling and visualizing increasing magnitudes of remote data efficiently.
Departments and Instituts: 
Computer Science, Institute of Visual Computing
From: 
01.06.2018
to
30.09.2020
Type of funding: 
Publicly Funded Research

Project description

Sub-project of proposal: „HACS – Hierarchical Methods for the Efficient Analysis of Cloud-Based Simulation Data“

The steady growth in size and complexity of simulation data, as well as the way it is postprocessed, in many situations does not comply with the requirements of efficient visual analysis. This becomes obvious when data from very large simulations of, e.g., airflow around vehicles, is maintained at an automobile manufacturer‘s headquarters, and engineers at remote locations are working with the data in a loop of visual analysis and model modification.

Todays visualization processes like remote visualization or the bulk transmission of all data before visualization do not scale with data growth and increasing numbers of concurrent users. This project aims at developing novel data Teilprojekt im Antrag: „HACS – Hierarchical Methods for the Efficient Analysis of Cloud-Based Simulation Data“representation and transfer methods to integrate into a new visualization pipeline, which will be capable of handling and visualizing efficiently increasing magnitudes of remote data.

To these ends, hierarchical compression of irregular grids is combined with progressive on-demand data transmission and local volume rendering of tetrahedral multiresolution meshes. The interface to the data is provided as a generic layer that models general graphs and grids, which enables zero-overhead integration with distributed caching services as well as existing simulation and visualization systems.

 

Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg

Project manager at H-BRS

Prof. Dr. André Hinkenjann

Gründungsdirektor des Institut für Visual Computing
Forschungsprofessur für Computergrafik und Interaktive Systeme
Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg
Email: 
andre.hinkenjann [at] h-brs.de

Sankt Augustin

Room: 
C 167

Co-operating professors

Research associates

Sponsors

Co-operation partners

LoDProVis – Level-of-Detail Methods for the Progressive Visualization of Simulation Data

Forschungsprojekt im Überblick

Die stetige Zunahme des Umfangs und der Komplexität von Simulationsdaten, sowie die Art ihrer Weiterverarbeitung, erfüllt häufig nicht die Anforderungen an eine effiziente, visuelle Analyse. Dies wird deutlich, wenn besonders umfangreiche Simulationen, wie etwa die Umströmung eines Fahrzeugs, am Hauptsitz eines Automobilherstellers vorgehalten werden, Ingenieure mit diesen Daten jedoch von anderen Orten aus in Zyklen von visueller Analyse und Modifikation des Modells arbeiten.

Förderungsart

Öffentliche Forschung

Zeitraum

01.06.2018 to 30.09.2020

Projektleitung

Projektbeschreibung

Teilprojekt des Antrags: „HACS – Hierarchical Methods for the Efficient Analysis of Cloud-Based Simulation Data“

Die stetige Zunahme des Umfangs und der Komplexität von Simulationsdaten, sowie die Art ihrer Weiterverarbeitung, erfüllt häufig nicht die Anforderungen an eine effiziente, visuelle Analyse. Dies wird deutlich, wenn besonders umfangreiche Simulationen, wie etwa die Umströmung eines Fahrzeugs, am Hauptsitz eines Automobilherstellers vorgehalten werden, Ingenieure mit diesen Daten jedoch von anderen Orten aus in Zyklen von visueller Analyse und Modifkation des Modells arbeiten.

Heutige Visualisierungsprozesse, wie die Remote-Visualisierung oder auch der vollständige Datentransfer vor der Visualisierung, skalieren nicht mit dem Datenwachstum und der zunehmenden Anzahl gleichzeitiger Nutzer. Dieses Projekt zielt darauf ab, neue Repräsentationen und Transfermethoden für solche Daten zu entwickeln und diese in eine neuartige Visualisierungspipeline zu integrieren, welche dem stetig zunehmenden Umfang effizient begegnet.

Hierzu wird die hierarchische Kompression von irregulären Gittern mit progressiver on-demand Datenübertragung und dem lokalem Volumenrendering von Multiresolution-Tetraedernetzen kombiniert. Das Dateninterface wird durch eine generische Schicht realisiert, welche allgemeine Graphen und Gitter modelliert. Hierdurch wird die Integration in verteilte Cachingsysteme und auch in existierende Simulations- und Visualisierungssysteme ohne zusätzlichen Overhead ermöglicht.

lodprovis-ueberblick-de.png (DE)

Kooperierende Professorinnen und Professoren

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter

Externe Kooperationspartnerinnen und Kooperationspartner

logo_sidact-transparent.jpg

Finanzierung

zim_4c_klein.jpg (DE)
bmwi_web_master_de_wbz.png