Commission International Affairs (formerly: Core Team International)

The University of Applied Sciences Bonn-Rhein-Sieg understands internationality as the ability to think and act beyond national borders and to gain new insights and experiences together with other cultures and traditions.


As a cosmopolitan and international university, the H-BRS is firmly rooted in the region and at the same time globally networked. With the principle of regional internationality, the university tries to take into account the internationalization of economy and society in cooperation with regional stakeholders.  International study programs, worldwide cooperation in teaching and research as well as the exchange of students, scientists and employees enrich the university life and underline this profile. 

The Presidential Commission on International Affairs advises the university management on all matters relating to the initiation and implementation of international cooperation projects as well as the development and implementation of interdepartmental programs and projects with foreign partners. It is a cross-departmental forum for exchange and mutual learning about internationalization.

  • Prof. Dr. Jürgen Bode, Vice President International Affairs & Diversity


Department of Management Sciences (FB01)

  • Stefanie Drügg
  • Sonja Atai

Department of Computer Science (FB02)

  • Prof. Dr. Sebastian Houben
  • Nadine Kutz
  • Luana Eickmeyer

Department of Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Technical Journalism (FB03)

  • Prof. Dr. Alejandro Valenzuela
  • Thomas Schmitz

Department of Natural Sciences (FB05)

  • Prof. Dr. Annette Menke, Presidential Representative for Diversity
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Heinzelmann
  • Prof. Dr. Dieter Reinscheid
  • Prof. Dr. Christopher Volk

Department of Social Security Studies (FB06)

  • Friederike Windhofer
  • Abdelrahman Fatoum

Representatives of central scientific institutions

  • Prof. Dr. Norbert Jung, Institute for Security Research (ISF)
  • Prof. Dr. Rainer Herpers, Graduate Institute (GI)
  • Matthias Günther, IZNE
  • Leona Bergheim, ZWT
  • Prof. Iris Groß, ZIEL

International Office and Student Services

  • Barbara Schubert, Head of Department 5- Student Affairs and General Student Advisory Service
  • Dr. Wang Yi, Head of International Office
  • all employees of the International Office
  • Thomas Wilczek, Teamleitung im Prüfungsservice
  • Gertrud Roman, Student secretariat - international applicants/students

Language Center

  • Jeannette Bergmann, Head
  • Eileen Küpper

Presidential Commissioner for Global Digital Teaching

  • Regina C. Brautlacht

Digital International General Studies (DISG)

  • Christine Freitag, project manager


  • Anna Sancillo

Network Manager China Cooperation

  • Dr. Zhanlu Ma-Högemeier

International Affairs and Diversity

  • Sarah Friedrichs, Senior Expert on International Affairs and Diversity to the Vice President and Head of Diversity Management
  • Saskia Pfeiffer, Coordinator for International Affairs and Diversity