INTERFACES - Supporting Pathways to Sustainable Land Management in Africa

Research project at a glance

Land management and the securing, use, control and governance of land-related natural resources is one of the key drivers for sustainable development in Africa. Sustainable land management should contribute to food security, adaptation of agriculture and forestry to climate change, nature and environmental protection, and be organized in a way that contributes to social justice. Since October 2022, the German Research Ministry (BMBF) is supporting four regional research and development (R&D) projects that will contribute to this aim.

Funding type

Publicly funded research

Period

01.10.2022 to 30.09.2026

Project Leader

Project Description

INTERFACES is a support project that will support the BMBF-funded regional projects in their endeavor to drive change for sustainable land management in Sub-Saharan Africa. It will do so through impact-driven support activities which build on networking for the regional projects, science communication, social learning processes and capacity development, and by complementary transfer analyses that enable or facilitate the implementation as well as improve the relevance and outreach of the regional projects' research-based findings.

 

To achieve changes towards sustainable land management, a fundamental reorganization is needed across technological, economic, political, institutional and social factors, including paradigms, goals and values. Changes must be gender-responsive and socially inclusive, which means that implementation pathways for sustainable land management must be based on thorough gender and power analyses and lead to outcomes that benefit both women and men of different ethnicities, ages, classes, and income levels.

 

Therefore, INTERFACES has four work areas that together strengthen the integration, coherence and reach of the regional projects with regard to sustainable land management: 1. Knowledge synthesis through dialogues about future visions and theories of change for sustainable land management - together with the regional projects and actors from science, policy and practice, 2. Support of innovation and implementation processes by identifying change strategies to bridge knowledge-behaviour gaps, 3. Communication, networking and knowledge management and 4. Education, e.g. through the integration of teaching content into African and German graduate programs. The methods and results of the regional projects find their way into the training of project partners and students with regard to the training of future "change agents".

Results

The outputs from INTERFACES are expected to include scientific and non-scientific publications, the promotion of transdisciplinary research and social learning approaches in order to produce research results that are relevant to practice, the strengthening of already existing networks on land management issues and linking them up with different African networks to further contribute to the implementation of the R&D results in the area of land management. Finally, INTERFACES will anchor implementation-oriented research in education and training.

Cooperating professors

Research associates

Sponsors

BMBF_Logo_English.jpg (DE)

Links

INTERFACES - Unterstützung von Entwicklungspfaden für ein nachhaltiges Landmanagement in Afrika

Forschungsprojekt im Überblick

Landmanagement und die Sicherung, Nutzung, Kontrolle und Verwaltung landbezogener natürlicher Ressourcen ist einer der wichtigsten Treiber für nachhaltige Entwicklung in Afrika. Eine nachhaltige Landbewirtschaftung soll zur Ernährungssicherung, zur Anpassung der Land- und Forstwirtschaft an den Klimawandel und zum Natur- und Umweltschutz beitragen und so gestaltet werden, dass sie zu sozialer Gerechtigkeit beiträgt. Ab Oktober 2022 fördert das Bundesforschungsministerium (BMBF) vier regionale Forschungs- und Entwicklungs-Vorhaben, die zu diesem Ziel beitragen.

Förderungsart

Öffentliche Forschung

Zeitraum

01.10.2022 to 30.09.2026

Projektleitung

Projektbeschreibung

INTERFACES ist ein Begleitvorhaben, das die vom BMBF geförderten Regionalvorhaben in ihrem Bestreben, den Wandel für eine nachhaltige Landbewirtschaftung in Subsahara-Afrika voranzutreiben, unterstützen wird. Dies geschieht durch wirkungsorientierte Serviceaktivitäten, aufbauend auf die Vernetzung der Regionalvorhaben, Wissenschaftskommunikation, gesellschaftliche Lernprozesse und Kapazitätsentwicklung, sowie durch ergänzende Transferanalysen, die die Umsetzung ermöglichen oder erleichtern und die Relevanz und Reichweite forschungsbasierter Erkenntnisse der Regionalvorhaben verbessern.

 

Um den transformativen Wandel hin zu einem nachhaltigen Landmanagement zu erreichen, bedarf es einer grundlegenden Umstrukturierung technologischer, wirtschaftlicher, politischer, institutioneller und sozialer Rahmenbedingungen, einschließlich der entsprechenden Paradigmen, Ziele und Werte. Veränderungen müssen geschlechtergerecht und inklusiv für alle gesellschaftlichen Schichten sein. Dies bedeutet, dass Umsetzungspfade für eine nachhaltige Landbewirtschaftung auf fundierten Geschlechter- und Machtanalysen basieren und zu Ergebnissen führen müssen, die sowohl Frauen als auch Männern unterschiedlicher Ethnien, Altersgruppen, Klassen und Einkommensniveaus zu Gute kommen.

 

INTERFACES hat vier Arbeitsbereiche, die zusammen die Integration, Kohärenz und Reichweite der Regionalvorhaben im Hinblick auf nachhaltiges Landmanagement stärken: 1. Wissenssynthese durch Dialoge über Zukunftsvisionen und Veränderungstheorien für nachhaltiges Landmanagement – gemeinsam mit den Regionalvorhaben und Akteuren aus Wissenschaft, Politik und Praxis, 2. Unterstützung von Innovations- und Umsetzungsprozessen durch die Identifizierung von Veränderungsstrategien zur Überbrückung von Wissen-Verhalten-Lücken, 3. Kommunikation, Vernetzung und Wissensmanagement, sowie 4. Ausbildung, etwa durch die Integration von Lehrinhalten in afrikanische und deutsche Graduiertenprogramme. Die Methoden und Ergebnisse der Regionalvorhaben finden Eingang in das Training von Projektpartnern und Studierenden im Hinblick auf die Ausbildung zukünftiger „Change Agents“.

Ergebnisse

Zu den erwarteten Ergebnissen von INTERFACES gehören wissenschaftliche und nicht-wissenschaftliche Publikationen, die Förderung transdisziplinärer Forschung und sozialer Lernansätze zur Erzielung praxisrelevanter Forschungsergebnisse, die Stärkung bereits bestehender Netzwerke zu Fragen des Landmanagements und deren Vernetzung mit verschiedenen afrikanischen Netzwerken, um weiter zur Umsetzung der F&E-Ergebnisse im Bereich Landmanagement beizutragen. Außerdem wird INTERFACES umsetzungsorientierte Forschung in der Aus- und Weiterbildung verankern.

Kooperierende Professorinnen und Professoren

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter

Externe Kooperationspartnerinnen und Kooperationspartner

Finanzierung

bmbf-gefordert_vom.jpg (DE)

Links