Partnership for Applied Sciences - PASS

Strengthening quality project based teaching, promoting internationalization, broadening networks - a German-Ghanaian University Partnership Project.

The Ministry of Innovation, Science and Research (MIWF) through the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) is funding the University partnership project "Partnership for Applied Sciences - PASS", starting from July 2017. The funding is made available through the programme "NRW-Partnership for the promotion of Technical Universities in Ghana" in the context of the NRW-Ghana Partnership. PASS is implemented jointly by Bonn-Rhein-Sieg University of Applied Sciences (lead), Cologne University of Applied Sciences, International University of Applied Sciences Bad Honnef and Kumasi Technical University and Cape Coast Technical University. The project is lead by Sonja Keller within Prof. Jürgen Bode's responsibility, and has a duration of 4 years.

Objectives:

The project aims to strengthen the application orientation in teaching and research at the Ghanaian partner universities as well as management to increase students' and graduates' success in the labor market and to create new employment opportunities for them. Furthermore, international application oriented research will be initiated and the regional and international network of representatives from academia, the private and the public sector will be expanded and consolidated. 

Implementation:

During workshops in Ghana and Germany, experts will engage in exchange on the integration of project based learning in their curricula, and curriculum development in renewable energies and tourism management. The development of entrepreneurship expertise is an additional component. The project is complemented by two application cases: acquired skills will be converted to concrete results with the development of two concepts. At Cape Coast Technical University, a concept for the establishment of an eco-guesthosue will be developed, which will serve as educational space for students of tourism and will provide renewable energy projects for students of engineering. At Kumasi Technical University a concept will be developed to implement a Green Campus which will provide students' projects in renewable energies and will introduce faculty and students to environmentally friendly management. 

Subscribe to PASS Newsletter here! 

Here you can unsubscribe.

Project Consortium:

Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg (Lead)

Technische Hochschule Köln

Internationale Hochschule Bad Honnef

Kumasi Technical University

Cape Coast Technical University

Project partners:

University of Cape Coast, Centre for Entrepreneurship and Small Enterprise Development (CESED)

Accra Technical University

Coastline Logistics Group

Catholic Diocese of Koforidua

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) Accra

Cape Coast Regional Chamber of Commerce and Industry

Kumasi Regional Chamber of Commerce and Industry

BEGECA

Deutsche Investitions- und Entwicklungsgesellschaft/Kreditanstalt für Wiederaufbau (DEG/KfW Accra)

Die Sternsinger

SegenSolar

Stiftung managerohnegrenzen

Partnership for Applied Sciences - PASS

Qualität der anwendungsbezogenen Lehre stärken, Internationalisierung voranbringen, Netzwerke erweitern - ein deutsch-ghanaisches Hochschulpartnerschaftsprojekt.

Im Rahmen der NRW-Ghana Partnerschaft und dem Förderprogramm "NRW-Partnerschaften zur Förderung der Technical Universities in Ghana" fördert das Ministerium für Innovation, Wirtschaft und Forschung (MIWF) durch den Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst (DAAD) seit 2017 das Hochschulpartnerschaftsprojekt "Partnership for Applied Sciences - PASS" zwischen der Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg (Konsortialführer), der Technischen Hochschule Köln, der Internationalen Hochschule Bad Honnef und den zwei ghanaischen Hochschulen Kumasi Technical University und Cape Coast Technical University. Das Projekt wird von Sonja Keller geleitet innerhalb der Verantwortung von Prof. Dr. Jürgen Bode und hat eine Laufzeit von vier Jahren.

Ziele des Vorhabens:

Ziel des Projekts ist es, sowohl die Praxisorientierung der Lehre und Forschung an den ghanaischen Partnerhochschulen als auch das Management zu stärken, um den Erfolg von Studierenden und Graduierten am Arbeitsmarkt zu steigern sowie neue Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten zu schaffen. Im Rahmen des Projekts soll zudem internationale, anwendungsorientierte Forschung initiiert werden und das regionale und internationale Netzwerk von Vertretern ausWissenschaft, dem Privatsektor und dem öffentlichen Sektor erweitert und gestärkt werden.

Implementierung:

Der fachliche Austausch wird im Rahmen von Workshops in Deutschland und Ghana umgesetzt. Hierzu gehören Workshops zur Einbindung von Praxisprojekten in den Unterricht für alle Fächergruppen, sowie Curriculumsentwicklung für Tourismusmanagement und Erneuerbare Energien/Nachhaltige Ingenieurswissenschaften. Eine weitere Komponente ist der Auf- und Ausbau von Entrepreneurship Expertise an den ghanaischen Technical Universities. Das Projekt wird durch zwei Testfälle komplettiert: Die fachlichen Inhalte werden in konkrete Konzepte umgesetzt. In Cape Coast wird im Rahmen der Projektlaufzeit ein Konzept für ein Eco-Guesthouse entwickelt, das einerseits als Ausbildungsraum für Tourismus-Studierende dient und andererseits Projekte in den Nachhaltigen Ingenieurswissenschaften bietet. In Kumasi wird ein Konzept für einen Green Campus entwickelt, der Studierende an umweltfreundliches Management heranführen soll und ebenfalls Möglichkeiten für Praxisprojekte in den Erneuerbaren Energien bietet.

Melden Sie sich hier für den PASS Newsletter an! 

Hier können Sie sich abmelden

Projektkonsortium:

Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg (Konsortialführer)

Technische Hochschule Köln

Internationale Hochschule Bad Honnef

Kumasi Technical University

Cape Coast Technical University

Projektpartner:

University of Cape Coast, Centre for Entrepreneurship and Small Enterprise Development (CESED)

Accra Technical University

Coastline Logistics Group

Catholic Diocese of Koforidua

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) Accra

Cape Coast Regional Chamber of Commerce and Industry

Kumasi Regional Chamber of Commerce and Industry

BEGECA

Deutsche Investitions- und Entwicklungsgesellschaft/Kreditanstalt für Wiederaufbau (DEG/KfW Accra)

Die Sternsinger

SegenSolar

Stiftung managerohnegrenzen