OptoSpin

logo_optospin.jpg.png (DE)

Research project at a glance

Sensors ensure our safety in fire and gas detectors, for example, and inform us about invisible chemical (hazardous) substances, whereby reliability and selectivity are the most important requirements. The aim is to develop new types of sensors with increased selectivity. They consist of liquid crystals which, by adding optically active substances, adopt a special structure that reflects only a narrow wavelength range of the incident light, making the liquid crystal appear coloured. A chemical reaction with an analyte changes the reflected wavelength range and leads to visible colour changes.

Project Leader

Project Description

Sensors in many devices ensure our well-being or safety and inform us about invisible dangers. Important examples are fire and gas detectors as well as various sensors for indicating chemical (hazardous) substances. The most important requirements for a chemical sensor are reliability and selectivity. No substance other than the one defined should influence the sensor signal and possibly lead to a false alarm. Conventional sensors have disadvantages here: they respond to a large number of substances, so their signals have to be evaluated, sometimes at great expense, to enable precise statements to be made.
In the BMBF project OptoSpin, new types of sensors with increased selectivity are being developed. These sensors consist of liquid crystals which, through the addition of optically active substances, take on a special structure with specific properties: It reflects only a narrow wavelength range of the incident light, which makes the liquid crystal appear coloured. Through a chemical reaction of the optically active substance with the analyte, the reflected wavelength range is altered and a change in colour can be observed with the naked eye.

abbildung_projekt_optospin.jpg (DE)

However, these liquid crystals must be protected from mechanical impact or unwanted contamination by dirt. To do this, they are encapsulated – using the electrospinning process – into a polymer fibre which is permeable to the analyte. The filled fibres show a similar colour reaction in the presence of the analyte and have the appearance of a thin fleece (see figure).

The fleeces might be used, for example, as rapid tests for narcotics, explosives or fire gases and indicate hazardous substances on contact or be integrated into an electronic setup. Thus, the liquid crystal-based sensors could be a cost-effective alternative to sensors in fire detection technology, for example. This enables completely new application scenarios in sensor technology.

Master Logo des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung logo_bmbf.jpg (DE)

The project is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) 
Funding code: BMBF 13FH023IX6

OptoSpin

Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg
Optische Gassensorik mit dotierten Flüssigkristallen verbunden mit koaxialem Elektrospinnen
Von: 
01.07.2017
to
30.06.2021
Förderungsart: 
Öffentliche Forschung

Projektbeschreibung

Sensoren sorgen in vielerlei Geräten für unser Wohlbefinden oder unsere Sicherheit und informieren uns über nicht sichtbare Gefahren. Wichtige Beispiele sind Brand- und Gasmelder sowie verschiedenste Sensoren zur Anzeige chemischer (Gefahr-)Stoffe. Die wichtigsten Anforderungen an einen chemischen Sensor sind  Zuverlässigkeit und Selektivität. Keine andere Substanz als die definierte sollte das Sensorsignal beeinflussen und gegebenenfalls zu einer Falschmeldung führen. Konventionelle Sensoren haben hier Nachteile: Sie sprechen auf eine Vielzahl von Stoffen an, ihre Signale müssen daher teils aufwändig ausgewertet werden, um präzise Aussagen zu ermöglichen.
Im BMBF-Projekt OptoSpin werden neuartige Sensoren mit gesteigerter Selektivität entwickelt. Diese Sensoren bestehen aus Flüssigkristallen, die durch Zugabe optisch aktiver Substanzen eine spezielle Struktur mit spezifischen Eigenschaften einnehmen: Sie reflektiert nur einen schmalen Wellenlängenbereich des einfallenden Lichts, wodurch der Flüssigkristall farbig erscheint. Durch eine chemische Reaktion mit dem Analyten wird der reflektierte Wellenlängenbereich verändert und ein Wechsel der Farbe kann mit dem bloßen Auge beobachtet werden.

Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg
Abbildung 1: Farbreaktion eines mit Flüssigkristall gefüllten Faservlieses

Allerdings müssen diese Flüssigkristalle vor mechanischer Einwirkung oder ungewollter Kontamination durch Schmutz geschützt werden. Hierzu werden sie mit dem Electrospinning-Verfahren in eine Polymerfaser eingekapselt, die für den Analyten durchlässig ist. Die gefüllten Fasern zeigen eine ähnliche Farbreaktion in Anwesenheit des Analyten und haben die Erscheinungsform eines dünnen Vlieses (siehe Abbildung).

Sie könnten beispielsweise als Schnelltests für Betäubungsmittel,  Explosivstoffe oder Brandgase eingesetzt werden: Vliese, die bei Kontakt Gefahrstoffe anzeigen, oder – integriert in einen elektronischen Aufbau – können die flüssigkristallbasierten Sensoren eine kostengünstige Alternative zu Sensoren etwa in der Brandmeldetechnik bieten. Dies ermöglicht ganz neue Anwendungsszenarien in der Sensorik.

Projektleitung an der H-BRS

Prof. Dr. Peter-Michael Kaul

Professor für Physik, Statistik und Messtechnik
Inhaber einer Forschungsprofessur
Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg
E-Mail: 
peter.kaul [at] h-brs.de

Rheinbach

Raum: 
G 133

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter

Geldgeber

Kooperationspartner