Usability in Work Safety

Usability Work Safety
Development of an interactive virtual environment to evaluate usability tests in work safety applications

Project description

Investigation of the usability of protective devices of work equipment in commercial sectors

Objectives of the project: The primary objective of this project is the development of methods and tools for interdisciplinary investigations of human computer interfaces for work safety applications within a usability laboratory environment. Special emphasis will be put on empirical research of design principles and the evaluation of the usability of protective equipment, of safety equipment and of work safety concepts of machines and installations. A first prototype of an interactive virtual visualisation environment in which usability tests of work safety applications will be evaluated, will be established based on the Immersion Square technology currently available at the Bonn-Rhein-Sieg University of Applied Sciences. Developments for the detection and tracking of head position as well as gaze direction have to be performed in detail. Furthermore, the necessary technologies and the psychological principles of practical work safety applications have to be transferred.

Methods and Activities: Firstly, a comprehensive investigation of the state of the art of sample applications in several member companies of the Accident Prevention and Insurance Association will be undertaken. This activity will be supported by an interdisciplinary workshop on the identification of both applicable principles of usability and industrial practical examples for work safety.

A special modus operandi of this project will be its interdisciplinary approach. The technical realisation of the interactive virtual environment is inseparably connected to the development of usability methods applicable to work safety measures. In order to analyse reasons for accidents caused by human-machine interactions from the psychological perspective rather than just the technical view point, new methods and tools need to be developed in close cooperation with engineers and work psychologists.

The selection and development of applicable usability methods is an essential part of this project and should be supported by a systematic study of psychological aspects. In this case technology should follow up the usability methods, not vice versa.

Project manager at H-BRS

Prof. Dr Rainer Herpers

Computer Vision, Computer Graphics, Multimedia Applications
Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg
Email: 
rainer.herpers [at] h-brs.de

Usability in Work Safety

Usability Work Safety
Aufbau von interaktiven virtuellen Umgebungen zur Evaluierung von Usability Fragestellungen im Arbeitsschutz

Projektbeschreibung

Untersuchung der Anwenderfreundlichkeit von Sicherheitstechnik für Arbeitsmittel des gewerblichen Bereiches

Vorhabensziel: Ziel dieses Vorhabens ist primär, die Methoden und Werkzeuge für interdisziplinäre Untersuchungen der sicherheitsbezogenen Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion in einem Usability-Labor zu entwickeln. Hierbei stehen die empirische Erforschung von Gestaltungsprinzipien und die Prüfung der Gebrauchstauglichkeit (Usability) von Schutzeinrichtungen, Schutzausrüstung sowie Schutzkonzepten für Maschinen und Anlagen im Vordergrund. Im Rahmen des Projektes soll ein erster Prototyp einer interaktiven virtuellen Visualisierungsumgebung, in der Usability-Fragestellungen des Arbeitsschutzes untersucht werden können, auf der Grundlage des an der FH Bonn-Rhein-Sieg existierenden Immersion Square Visualisierungssystems entwickelt werden. Hierzu sind unter anderem Entwicklungen in den Bereichen der Detektion und Verfolgung der Kopfposition sowie der Blickrichtungsbestimmung durchzuführen. Darüber hinaus sollen exemplarisch notwendige Technologien und geeignete arbeitspsychologische Prinzipien in die Praxis des Arbeitsschutzes übertragen werden.

Aktivitäten/Methoden: Zu Beginn des Projektes wird eine umfangreiche Recherche von Anwendungsbeispielen in verschiedenen Mitgliedsbetrieben der Berufsgenossenschaften erstellt, die unterstützt wird durch einen interdisziplinären Workshop, um anwendbare Prinzipien der Usability sowie industrielle Praxisbeispiele für den Arbeitsschutz zu identifizieren.

Eine besondere Vorgehensweise dieses Projektes ist der interdisziplinäre Ansatz. Die technische Realisierung der interaktiven virtuellen Umgebung ist untrennbar an die Entwicklung von geeigneten Usability-Methoden für die Verwendung im Arbeitsschutz gekoppelt. Damit Unfallursachen bei der Mensch-Maschine Interaktion nicht nur aus technischer Sicht sondern auch aus arbeitspsychologischer Sicht analysiert werden können, sind Methoden und Werkzeug in enger Zusammenarbeit zwischen Ingenieuren und Arbeitspsychologen zu entwickeln.

Die Auswahl und Entwicklung von geeigneten Usability-Methoden ist wesentlicher Bestandteil dieses Projektes und sollen durch systematische arbeitspsychologische Untersuchungen begründet werden. Dabei soll die Technik dem Bedarf der Usability-Methoden folgen.

Projektleitung an der H-BRS

Prof. Dr. Rainer Herpers

Wissenschaftlicher Direktor des Graduierteninstituts
Direktor des Institute of Visual Computing
Professor im Fachbereich Informatik
Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg
E-Mail: 
rainer.herpers [at] h-brs.de

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter