Prof. Dr Dietmar Fink

Department of Management Sciences (Rheinbach Campus)Professor of Business Management, esp. Consultancy and Management Development

Contact

Prof. Dr. Dietmar Fink Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg
Email: 
dietmar.fink [at] h-brs.de

Rheinbach

von-Liebig-Str. 20
53359
Rheinbach
Room: 
B 122

Profile

Field of expertise

  • Business Management, especially Management Development and Consultancy

Subject areas

  • Management of consulting companies
  • Planning, management and monitoring of consulting processes
  • Methods and instruments of management consulting
  • Styles and myths in management
  • Power and reputation

Research areas

  • Strategic planning in management consulting
  • Positioning of consultancy brands
  • Business models of management consultants
  • Disruptive processes in management consulting
  • Consultancy market research
  • Hidden champions of consultancy
  • Styles of management
  • Power and reputation
  • Impact theory

Curriculum vitae

Résumé

Professor Dr. Dietmar Fink holds the chair of Consultancy and Management Development at the Bonn-Rhein-Sieg University of Applied Sciences and is Managing Director of the Scientific Association for Management and Consultancy (WGMB) in Bonn. In addition he did research and taught about power and reputation many years at the faculty of the Oxford University until 2015. Professor Fink ranks as a recognised but also critical follower of the consulting scene. Through the years his analyses on the development of the consultancy market as well as on recent and future management trends have become firmly established in the economy and in the media. He consults companies like McKinsey, Boston Consulting Group, Roland Berger, PwC, KPMG, Accenture and other leading consultancies, especially on issues of reputation establishment and preservation as well as on power structures and power processes in regards to complex changes.

Professor Fink studied Business Administration in Frankfurt am Main and Financial Economy in London, he recieved a Ph.D. at the University of Kassel and he worked for a leading American management consulting company ten years. He is the author of numerous books – including the basic work “Strategic consulting” and several Financial Times bestseller – and also of many articles and commentaries in prestigious publications of the daily press, the specialised press and the business press. Furthermore he is a frequent lecturer on the topics of management consultancy, power and reputation, trends in leadership and management methods at events for the top management.

Projects

  • Analysis of the consulting market – reputation and capability of the “Hidden champions“ compared to the “Champions“ McKinsey und Roland Berger
  • Analysis of the gaps in knowledge and competence in Germany as a location for innovation in cooperation with the Opel AG, the Initiative Group Ruhrgebiet and the consultancy Accenture under the auspices of former Federal Minister of Economics Wolfgang Clement
  • Assessment of the effects of innovation partnerships and co-competences on the German economy
  • Development of a stage-by-stage scheme for the assignment of IT projects for the Federal Ministry of the Interior Entwicklung

Prof. Dr. Dietmar Fink

Fachbereich Wirtschaftswissenschaften Campus Rheinbach Professur für BWL insb. Unternehmensberatung und -entwicklung

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Dietmar Fink Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg
E-Mail: 
dietmar.fink [at] h-brs.de

Rheinbach

von-Liebig-Str. 20
53359
Rheinbach
Raum: 
B 122
Sprechstunden: 
Nach Vereinbarung
per E-Mail

Profil

Fachgebiet

  • Betriebswirtschaftslehre, insbesondere Unternehmensberatung und -entwicklung

Lehrgebiete

  • Management von Beratungsunternehmen
  • Planung, Steuerung und Kontrolle von Beratungsprozessen
  • Methoden und Instrumente der Managementberatung
  • Moden und Mythen im Management
  • Macht und Reputation

Forschungsgebiete

  • Strategische Planung in der Managementberatung
  • Positionierung von Beratungsmarken
  • Geschäftsmodelle von Managementberatern
  • Disruptive Prozesse in der Managementberatung
  • Beratungsmarktforschung
  • Hidden Champions der Beratung
  • Managementmoden
  • Macht und Reputation
  • Impact-Theorie

Lebenslauf

Professor Dr. Dietmar Fink ist Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Unternehmensberatung und -entwicklung an der Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg und Geschäftsführender Direktor der Wissenschaftlichen Gesellschaft für Management und Beratung (WGMB) in Bonn. Bis 2015 forschte und lehrte er zudem viele Jahre als Mitglied der Fakultät der Universität Oxford zu den Themen Macht und Reputation. Professor Fink gilt als anerkannter aber auch kritischer Begleiter der Beraterszene. Seine Analysen zur Entwicklung des Beratungsmarktes sowie zu aktuellen und zukünftigen Managementtrends haben in der Wirtschaft und in den Medien seit Jahren ihren festen Platz. Er berät Firmen wie McKinsey, die Boston Consulting Group, Roland Berger, PwC, KPMG, Accenture und andere führende Beratungsunternehmen, insbesondere zu Fragen des Reputationsaufbaus und -erhalts sowie zu Machtstrukturen und Machtprozessen im Rahmen von komplexen Veränderungsvorhaben.

Professor Fink studierte Betriebswirtschaftslehre in Frankfurt am Main, Finanzwirtschaft in London, promovierte an der Universität Kassel und arbeitete zehn Jahre für eine führende amerikanische Managementberatung. Er ist Autor zahlreicher Bücher – darunter zum Beispiel das Grundlagenwerk „Strategische Unternehmensberatung“ und mehrere Financial-Times-Bestseller – sowie einer Vielzahl von Artikeln und Kommentaren in renommierten Publikationen der Tages-, Fach- und Wirtschaftspresse. Zudem ist er ein gefragter Referent zu den Themen Unternehmensberatung, Macht und Reputation, Führungstrends und Managementmoden auf Veranstaltungen für das Top-Management.

Projekte

  • Untersuchung der Reputation und des Leistungsvermögens der "Hidden Champions" des Beratungsmarktes im Vergleich zu den "Champions" McKinsey und Roland Berger
  • Untersuchung der Wissens- und Kompetenzlücken am Innovationsstandort Deutschland gemeinsam mit der Adam Opel AG, dem Initiativkreis Ruhrgebiet und dem Beratungsunternehmen Accenture unter der Schirmherrschaft von Bundeswirtschaftsminister Wolfgang Clement
  • Einschätzung der Effekte von Innovationspartnerschaften und Co-Kompetenzen auf die deutsche Wirtschaft
  • Entwicklung eines Phasenkonzepts zur Vergabe von IT-Projekten für das Bundesinnenministerium