TRE3L - TREE-Energy Lab

The institute TREE operates the TREE-Energy Lab (TRE3L) in the university's Center of Applied Research (ZAF) with it's industrial partners GKN Driveline and GKN Sinter Metals.

Project description

The institute TREE operates the TREE-Energy Lab (TRE3L) in the university's Center of Applied Research (ZAF)  with it's industrial partners GKN Driveline and GKN Sinter Metals. In the three sub-labs Powder Fabrication-Lab, Mobility-Lab and Hydrogen-Lab the three partners work on innovative techniques in powder metallurgy and recent topics of environment friendly mobility and energy-efficiency. These labs are supported by a Simulation-Lab.

Powder Fabrication-Lab

In the Powder FabricationLab, parts were built up slice by slice by SLM (Selective Laser Melting). The SLM technology, which belongs to the 3D printing processes, facilitates almost unlimited geometrical design possibilities. Therefore the SLM technology can be used not only for conventional designed parts but also particularly for parts with free formed surfaces. Such surfaces are common e.g. for personalised products or for biomimetic designed products.

Powder Fabrication-Lab

Mobility-Lab

Smart, green and integrated transport is one of the great social challenges of our time. The transport sector is currently the only sector where emissions are still rising. At the same time, the share of resources consumed by the mobility sector is so great that it alone can prevent reaching the climate goals. In our MobilityLab, we therefore investigate innovative vehicle and drivetrain concepts. User data and driving profiles ("big data") are increasingly included in the development. The goal is always directed towards increasing efficiency.

New multidisciplinary design approaches make it possible to consider the development and optimization of individual vehicle components, which usually take place separately in the classical simulation disciplines. The simultaneous consideration of several disciplines within an optimization loop - as a coupled simulation solution - can currently only be used very seldom due to high computation times or missing interfaces.

However, if different operating strategies for safe, effective or look ahead driving strategies are to be included, the detailed behavior of the components (mechanical, electrical, electronic, mechatronic, hydraulic, pneumatic and software-based) must be considered. For this purpose interfaces between the classical simulation disciplines have to be defined and appropriate submodeling techniques have to be developed.

The goals of the Mobility-Lab are therefore

  • development of a methodical toolset (design tools, simulation and optimization methods and test stands) for innovative vehicle and drive concepts
  • application and verification of the toolsets at demo station examples of the project partners
  • sustainability analyzes and acceptance studies of new vehicle concepts
  • simulation and optimization of mobility applications (aerodynamics, powertrains, electric motors, driving strategies)

Mobility-Lab

Hydrogen Lab

Hydrogen will play a key role as an energy carrier. In the Hydrogen Lab, advanced solutions for energy storage will be developed. This will include the joint construction of an H2 research facility for physical as well as virtual Experiments, in particulr for the investigation of the energy efficiency of H2 storage with a focus on metal hydrides. Technological developments will be complemented by sustainability analyses and acceptance studies. 

Hydrogen-Lab

Simulation-Lab

Simulation technology is a cross-topic activity and will support the research tasks of other technology fields, focusing on methodology and efficient use of hardware resources. New multiscale simulation methods or optimization algorithms dealing with different types of minimisation problems, for example, enable us to choose the optimum design solution from a multispace simulation result and allow us to identify optimal solutions. This can dramatically reduce the development costs and increase performance and reliability of new products and help optimize manufacturing techniques. In combination with new production techniques such as 3D printing, simulation techniques are a prerequisite for a new, integrative approach in the development and production of new products.

Project manager at H-BRS

Prof. Dr. Alexander Asteroth

Professor für Theoretische Grundlagen der Informatik
Geschäftsführender Direktor des Instituts TREE
Sprecher des Forschungsfelds Effiziente Mobilität
Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg
Email: 
alexander.asteroth [at] h-brs.de

Sankt Augustin

Room: 
A 022.3

Prof. Dr. Tanja Clees

Ingenieurwissenschaften
insbesondere Ingenieurinformatik, Modellbildung und Simulation
Porträt Tanja Clees
Email: 
tanja.clees [at] h-brs.de
E-Mail: 
tanja.clees [at] scai.fraunhofer.de

Sankt Augustin

Room: 
B 245

Sankt Augustin

Fraunhofer SCAI

Prof. Dr. Dirk Reith

Grundgebiete der Ingenieurwissenschaften
insbesondere Mathematik, Physik und Simulationsanwendungen (Forschungsprofessur)
Direktor des TREE-Instituts
Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg
Email: 
dirk.reith [at] h-brs.de

Sankt Augustin

Room: 
B 223

Co-operating professors

Co-operation partners

TRE³L - TREE-Energy Lab

Das Institut TREE betreibt im Zentrum für angewandte Forschung der H-BRS gemeinsam mit den Industriepartnern GKN Driveline und GKN Sinter Metals das TREE-Energy Lab (TRE³L).

Projektbeschreibung

Das Institut TREE betreibt im Zentrum für angewandte Forschung der H-BRS gemeinsam mit den Industriepartnern GKN Driveline und GKN Sinter Metals das TREE-Energy Lab (TRE³L). In den drei Teillaboren Powder Fabrication-Lab, Mobility-Lab und Hydrogen-Lab forscht das Institut mit seinen Partnern zu neuartigen Verfahren der Pulvermetallurgie und zu aktuellen Themen der umweltfreundlichen Mobilität und der Energieeffizienz. Ein Simulation-Lab unterstützt die praktischen Labore.

Powder Fabrication-Lab

Im Powder Fabrication-Lab werden Bauteile im SLM-Verfahren (Selective Laser Melting) schichtweise aus Metallpulver aufgebaut. Diese, zum 3-D-Druck gehörende Technik, ermöglicht eine nahezu unbegrenzte Geometriefreiheit. Damit eignet sich das SLM-Verfahren außer für konventionell konstruierte Bauteile insbesondere auch für Bauteile mit Freiformflächen, die z.B. für individualisierte, oder auch bionische Produkte benötigt werden.

Powder Fabrication-Lab

Mobility-Lab - Moderne Antriebskonzepte und Betriebsstrategien der Zukunft

Intelli­genter, umweltfreundlicher und integrierter Verkehr sind eine der großen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit. Der Verkehrsbereich ist zur Zeit der einzige Sektor in dem die Emissionen immer noch steigen. Gleichzeitig ist der Anteil am Ressourcenverbrauch durch den Mobilitätssektor so groß, dass er alleine das Erreichen der Klimaziele verhindern kann. Im Mobility­Lab sollen daher innovative Fahrzeug­- und Antriebskonzepte untersucht und verstärkt Nutzerdaten bzw. Fahrprofile („Big Data“) in die Entwicklung einbezogen wer­den. Wobei die Zielrichtung stets auf die Steigerung der Effizienz ausgerichtet ist.

Neue multidisziplinäre Auslegungsansätze erlauben es, die üblicherweise getrennt in den klas­sischen Simulationsdisziplinen stattfindende Entwicklung und Optimierung einzelner Fahrzeug-Kom­ponenten, gekoppelt zu betrachten. Die gleichzeitige Berücksichtigung mehrerer Simulationsdisziplinen innerhalb einer Optimierungsschleife – als gekoppelte Simu­lationslösung – kann zur Zeit aufgrund hohen Rechenzeiten oder fehlender Schnittstellen nur sehr selten eingesetzt werden.

Sollen jedoch auch unterschiedliche Betriebsstrategien für ein sicheres und effektives oder vorausschauendes Fahren einbezogen werden, muss das detaillierte Verhalten der Komponenten (mechanische, elektrische, elektronische, me­chatronische, hydraulische, pneumatische und softwarebasierte) untereinander betrachtet wer­den. Hierfür müssen Schnittstellen zwischen den klassischen Simulationsdisziplinen definiert und geeigneten Submodelltechniken entwickelt werden.

Ziele des Mobility­- Labs sind daher

  • der Aufbau eines methodischen Toolsets (Auslegungstools, Simulations­ und Optimierungsmethoden und Prüfstände) für innovative Fahrzeug­ und Antriebskonzepte
  • die Anwendung und Verifikation der Toolsets an Demenstationsbeispielen der Projektpartner
  • Nachhaltigkeitsanalysen und Akzeptanzstudien neuer Fahrzeugkonzepte
  • die Simulation und Optimierung bei Mobilitätsanwendungen (Aerodynamik, An­triebsstränge, Elektromotoren, Fahrstrategien)

Mobility-Lab

Wasserstoff-Labor - Hydrogen Lab

Wasserstoff wird zu einem entscheidenden Faktor für die Energiewende. Im Wasserstoff-Labor werden technologisch fortgeschrittene Lösungen zu seiner Speicherung entwickelt. Dazu wird gemeinsam eine H2-Forschungsinfrastruktur für physikalische sowie simulationsgestützte Experimente aufgebaut, unter anderem zur Untersuchung der Energieeffizienz der Speicherung über Metallhydride. Nachhaltigkeitsanalysen und Akzeptanzstudien begleiten die technologischen Entwicklungen. 

Hydrogen-Lab

Simulation-Lab

Modellbildung und Simulation technischer Systeme ist eine themenübergreifende Aktivität und unterstützt die Forschungsaufgaben anderer Technologiefelder, wobei der Schwerpunkt auf Methodik und effizienter Nutzung von Hardwareressourcen liegt. Neue Multiskalen-Simulationsmethoden oder Optimierungsalgorithmen, die sich mit unterschiedlichen Arten von Minimierungsproblemen befassen, ermöglichen es uns beispielsweise, die optimale Designlösung aus einem Multispace-Simulationsergebnis auszuwählen und optimale Lösungen zu identifizieren. Dies kann die Entwicklungskosten drastisch senken, die Leistung und Zuverlässigkeit neuer Produkte erhöhen und zur Optimierung der Fertigungstechniken beitragen. In Kombination mit neuen Produktionstechniken wie dem 3D-Druck sind Simulationstechniken Voraussetzung für einen neuen integrativen Ansatz bei der Entwicklung und Produktion neuer Produkte.

Projektleitung an der H-BRS

Prof. Dr. Alexander Asteroth

Professor für Theoretische Grundlagen der Informatik
Geschäftsführender Direktor des Instituts TREE
Sprecher des Forschungsfelds Effiziente Mobilität
Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg
E-Mail: 
alexander.asteroth [at] h-brs.de

Sankt Augustin

Raum: 
A 022.3

Prof. Dr. Tanja Clees

Ingenieurwissenschaften
insbesondere Ingenieurinformatik, Modellbildung und Simulation
Porträt Tanja Clees
E-Mail: 
tanja.clees [at] h-brs.de
E-Mail: 
tanja.clees [at] scai.fraunhofer.de

Sankt Augustin

Raum: 
B 245

Sankt Augustin

Fraunhofer SCAI

Prof. Dr. Dirk Reith

Grundgebiete der Ingenieurwissenschaften
insbesondere Mathematik, Physik und Simulationsanwendungen (Forschungsprofessur)
Direktor des TREE-Instituts
Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg
E-Mail: 
dirk.reith [at] h-brs.de

Sankt Augustin

Raum: 
B 223

Kooperierende Professorinnen und Professoren

Kooperationspartner