Mobility-Lab

Smart, green and integrated transport is one of the great social challenges of our time. The transport sector is currently the only sector where emissions are still rising. At the same time, the share of resources consumed by the mobility sector is so great that it alone can prevent reaching the climate goals. In our MobilityLab, we therefore investigate innovative vehicle and drivetrain concepts. User data and driving profiles ("big data") are increasingly included in the development. The goal is always directed towards increasing efficiency.

New multidisciplinary design approaches make it possible to consider the development and optimization of individual vehicle components, which usually take place separately in the classical simulation disciplines. The simultaneous consideration of several disciplines within an optimization loop - as a coupled simulation solution - can currently only be used very seldom due to high computation times or missing interfaces.

However, if different operating strategies for safe, effective or look ahead driving strategies are to be included, the detailed behavior of the components (mechanical, electrical, electronic, mechatronic, hydraulic, pneumatic and software-based) must be considered. For this purpose interfaces between the classical simulation disciplines have to be defined and appropriate submodeling techniques have to be developed.

The goals of the Mobility-Lab are therefore

  • development of a methodical toolset (design tools, simulation and optimization methods and test stands) for innovative vehicle and drive concepts
  • application and verification of the toolsets at demo station examples of the project partners
  • sustainability analyzes and acceptance studies of new vehicle concepts
  • simulation and optimization of mobility applications (aerodynamics, powertrains, electric motors, driving strategies)

Mobility-Lab

Intelli­genter, umweltfreundlicher und integrierter Verkehr sind eine der großen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit. Der Verkehrsbereich ist zur Zeit der einzige Sektor in dem die Emissionen immer noch steigen. Gleichzeitig ist der Anteil am Ressourcenverbrauch durch den Mobilitätssektor so groß, dass er alleine das Erreichen der Klimaziele verhindern kann. Im Mobility­Lab sollen daher innovative Fahrzeug­- und Antriebskonzepte untersucht und verstärkt Nutzerdaten bzw. Fahrprofile („Big Data“) in die Entwicklung einbezogen wer­den. Wobei die Zielrichtung stets auf die Steigerung der Effizienz ausgerichtet ist.

Neue multidisziplinäre Auslegungsansätze erlauben es, die üblicherweise getrennt in den klas­sischen Simulationsdisziplinen stattfindende Entwicklung und Optimierung einzelner Fahrzeug-Kom­ponenten, gekoppelt zu betrachten. Die gleichzeitige Berücksichtigung mehrerer Simulationsdisziplinen innerhalb einer Optimierungsschleife – als gekoppelte Simu­lationslösung – kann zur Zeit aufgrund hohen Rechenzeiten oder fehlender Schnittstellen nur sehr selten eingesetzt werden.

Sollen jedoch auch unterschiedliche Betriebsstrategien für ein sicheres und effektives oder vorausschauendes Fahren einbezogen werden, muss das detaillierte Verhalten der Komponenten (mechanische, elektrische, elektronische, me­chatronische, hydraulische, pneumatische und softwarebasierte) untereinander betrachtet wer­den. Hierfür müssen Schnittstellen zwischen den klassischen Simulationsdisziplinen definiert und geeigneten Submodelltechniken entwickelt werden.

Ziele des Mobility­- Labs sind daher

  • der Aufbau eines methodischen Toolsets (Auslegungstools, Simulations­ und Optimierungsmethoden und Prüfstände) für innovative Fahrzeug­ und Antriebskonzepte
  • die Anwendung und Verifikation der Toolsets an Demenstationsbeispielen der Projektpartner
  • Nachhaltigkeitsanalysen und Akzeptanzstudien neuer Fahrzeugkonzepte
  • die Simulation und Optimierung bei Mobilitätsanwendungen (Aerodynamik, An­triebsstränge, Elektromotoren, Fahrstrategien)